The Truth Is Out There

I’m going to write something different today. It’s about something that has baffled me for the past 4 years.

Now, before I go any further, let me say that I’m quite a logical person. I don’t really believe in anything that can’t be explained, and I’m not a religious person either.

Anyway.

My daughter Carla was only 5 months old. She was just learning to move around by pushing her body forward. She couldn’t even crawl yet.

She didn’t sleep on our bed, she had her own cot that we put next to our bed. Our bed was quite high, since we put two thick mattresses on the bed frame.

That morning, I woke up to see her looking and smiling at me from her cot. I grabbed her and put her on my bed, and somehow I just fell back to sleep. My husband Rogerio was in the shower.

I must have been fast asleep. Suddenly, I felt as if someone was pushing my back gently but firmly forward until I was completely doubling over, and pulling my hands really far in front of me until I reached the end of the bed. I was not fully awake yet, and everything looked so dark. I felt my hands grabbing something, and I opened my eyes to see them  gripping Carla’s ankles. Carla was dangling upside down. I felt my hands pulling her up while my mind still felt blank.

So Carla had been pushing herself until she reached the end of the bed, and was falling down head first. I shudder to think of what could have happened.

I pulled her in my arms, stayed still for quite some time in shock. Rogerio came out of the shower and I told him about what happened, but I was not so sure about what actually  had happened.

So what was that exactly? A divine intervention? Carla’s guardian angel at work? Human reflex kicked into gear? I really don’t know. I was just grateful, I still am, that Carla was safe.

The end.

Leave a Reply

