Bedtime Story Made Easy

sikil

Like most young kids, my kids, especially my eldest, Carla, love bedtime stories. Sometimes I tell them classic fairy tales like Goldilocks and the three bears, three little pigs, red riding hood…. You know, the usual stuff.

Telling classic fairy tales is the easiest bedtime story option for me. You see, when it’s time for the kids to go to bed, they’d still be full of energy and I’d be totally ready to go to sleep myself. I know those stories by heart, so I just have to follow the story.

But sometimes, they’d say they are bored with those tales and they want something new. And then Carla would say, “Can you tell me a story about a small bag?” Or a plate, or a dinosaur, or a blood cell… Well, I don’t know about you, but for me, when I’m so ready to go to sleep, it’s just so difficult to force my brain to work. So, what I usually do is that I’d tell her, “Let’s make a story together!” I’d say one sentence, she’d continue with one sentence, I’d make another sentence, and so on. She loves it, I don’t really have to think about the story since I just have to follow her lead, and usually we’d come up with an interesting, albeit silly, and totally original story.

Sometimes she didn’t want to make a story together, but she still wanted a different story. So, I’d ask her to choose a classic story, but I’d tell it from a different point of view. For example, I’d tell a story about the three little pigs, but from the big bad wolf’s point of view. It’s fun too, not too difficult for me since it’s actually the same story, and it’s a good idea I think for the kids to learn to see things from different points of view.

So there you go. Bedtime story made easy. The only problem is that sometimes they enjoy the story so much, they wouldn’t go to sleep!

2 thoughts on “Bedtime Story Made Easy

Leave a Reply

